Healthy Weight Loss In The New Year

January 26, 2010

Bicycle Seats

Since having been diagnosed with degenerative joint disorder in my back and my knee, I’ve traded my treadmill for a stationary bike purported to be easier on the joints. It is much easier and I’m grateful. However I wanted to discuss the problems with bicycle seats.

I find myself wondering, who in the world designed bicycle seats? These seats might be fine for those that already have toned behinds, but I’m hear to say that the dang things are pure torture for those of us who are fighting obesity. In all honesty, we sit on these tiny little seats and they disappear. No kidding! Surely there must be a better way.

The seat on my newly purchased, used stationary bike is one of the larger types. I suppose that to someone who is already fit, this seat is probably quite comfortable. For someone like me who has a lot of extra weight on her tiny frame, this seat is hell.

I’ve been using the bike for more than three weeks now. I can hardly take another day on that seat. I’m beginning to have a better understanding of why so many of these bikes end up in people’s basements, or used for clothing racks until finally being sent to the thrift stores. We get on them with the greatest of intentions and then fail because of that dang seat.

I refuse to allow the bike seat to take this exercising opportunity away from me. I need the low impact exercise this bike offers me, and it fits into a small space in the house so that’s a plus.

I decided to do some Internet research about bicycle seats and this is what I found. Regular bike seats put pressure on the pudendal nerves, located here:

http://www.nationalpainfoundation.org/dis_cond/Pelvic%20pain/BOTHPudendal2_crop300lines.jpg

We sit on these nerves when we’re on our bikes, stationary or otherwise. They become pinched and sometimes entrapped often causing prickling, stabbing, burning, and numbness. In addition to pain, symptoms can include sexual dysfunction, impotence, and incontinence.

Ok, that’s enough information for me. I decide that I cannot sit on this tiny bicycle seat any longer and so I did some research and found a seat that I think I may like better. After looking online a bit I came across a seat that looks like a padded tractor seat. I kid you not! A tractor seat! Oh yes, I’m quite sure that’s the one for me, so I placed an order for it. It’s called the Schwinn No Pressure Bicycle Seat. You can Google it easily if you’re interested. In all honesty the reviews aren’t good for this seat, but I need something that’s going to support my big behind and at the same time stop the pain I’m going through so I can continue on with my exercise program. It arrives in the mail at the end of the week. I’ll be sure to let you all know how I like it.

Keep fighting the obesity fight. We can get there one step at a time.

~ by msbee1 on January 26, 2010.

One Response to “Healthy Weight Loss In The New Year”

  1. This blog is excellent. Keep up the good work, inspires me to keep building mine.

Leave a Reply

 
