Deceive Me Not

 

Deceive Me Not 

 Standing in the rain, leaning against the lamppost, in the cold evening air, I pull my trench coat snuggly around myself, trying to shut out the chill that runs down my spine.  I take one last drag from my cigarette and toss it in the puddle.  The tears on my face mingle with the rain.  I wipe a crimson drop from my lapel and hail a cab.  As I climb into the warmth of the back seat I pull a flask from my coat pocket and take a good long drink.  Looking out the window I wonder how it all ever came to this.

It had been a festive evening at the lounge.  Everyone was dressed gaily.   The orchestra played well, and long, and everyone danced endlessly.   I had arrived alone expecting to meet him there, as planned.  I sat at the bar and ordered a drink.   Sipping it slowly, taking in the joyful atmosphere, I watched the door closely so as not to miss his arrival.  The time ticked by and the orchestra played on and I had myself another drink.   Gay laughter, in the back of the lounge, caught my attention, and I strained to see through the smoke and dimness just who was there.  To my dismay, I realized it was he, sitting there with another woman, and they were laughing and having a wonderful time.  The woman wore a long, red satin gown with jewels at the neck, a big red hat with a large feather skillfully angled atop her head.  Long, raven tresses cascaded down her back. She was stunningly beautiful.  He wore a gray pin stripe suit, and his hair was combed so that a piece in the front fell partially over one eye.  He took a long, slow drag from the cigar he was holding and the smoke circled their heads almost amorously.  They looked breath taking together.

I gasped at this display and quickly turned away.  I lit a cigarette and ordered another drink.  Drumming my fingers on the bar, I contemplated what I should do.  Fear and anger mixed with the alcohol and my adrenaline flowed swiftly.  I glanced back across the room and she was sitting on his lap as he presented her with a rose.  She planted a warm, soft kiss on his forehead and he placed his face in the crook of her neck.  I turned away again and took the last sip from my glass.  I extinguished my cigarette and turned to walk out the door.  I reached into my coat pocket for my gloves and my fingers fell on the cold steel lying concealed within.  

Standing in the rain, leaning against the lamppost, in the cold evening air, I pull my trench coat snuggly around myself, trying to shut out the chill that runs down my spine.  I wipe a crimson drop from my lapel and I wonder how it all ever came to this.

 

 

~ by msbee1 on October 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
